How to do an advanced jump animation with SAGE?

How to do an advanced jump animation with SAGE?

PostPosted by Deckard » Wed Oct 17, 2012 5:46 am

I am new to the Sage library and although I closely watched the tutorial and read the Sage documentation, I have been unable to setup the Sage library to create an advanced jumping animation form my game which I would like to work as follows:

- the jump animation is divided in four sub states:
- prejump: the character is still on the ground and bending his knees to prepare for the jump,
- jump: the character actually jumps. This is when the CharacterController is moved upward and loses contact with the ground,
- fall: at some point the character starts to fall downward due to the gravity. This is a cycling animation because we do not know for how long the character will fall, if he jumps from a ledge for example,
- land: the character touches the ground and is reacting to the impact by bending his knees.

- the prejump, jump, fall and land animations are different depending on the speed of the character. There are:
- IdlePrejump, IdleJump, IdleFall, IdleLand: they are used when the character jumps while in Idle state,
- WalkPrejump, WalkJumpRight, WalkJumpLeft, WalkFallRight, WalkFallLeft, WalkLand: they are used when the character jumps while walking,
- RunPrejump, RunJumpRight, RunJumpLeft, RunFallRight, RunFallLeft, RunLand: they are used when the character jumps while running.

- the walk jump and run jump have separate animations depending on which foot the character is when the player presses the jump button.

- WalkPrejump, WalkLand, RunPrejump and RunLand are cycling animations (in fact they are locomotion groups). So it is necessary to be able to select the right frame by code, depending on which foot the character is when the player presses the jump button.

Is there a way to make this work with the Sage library? It seems to me that some additional functionalities would be required like: